Skip to content


The local Academy Governing Board (AGB) of our school act as “critical friends” of the Headteacher and staff through looking at how the school is progressing. The AGB is responsible for: ensuring the school’s money is well spent; making sure procedures are in place to ensure effective teaching and learning; examining the educational outcomes the school achieves; resolving grievances; overseeing the implementation of annual school development plans; and ensuring we regularly review how we are doing and how we could do better.

  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  2. Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent’.

The structure of our Academy Governing Board (AGB) is:

  • 4 Governors who are appointed by the Trust.
  • 3 Governors who are appointed by the Governing Board.
  • 1 Headteacher. This role is held ex-officio,
  • 2 Parent Governors who are appointed following parental elections,
  • 2 Staff Governors who are appointed following a staff election.

We also operate a system of link governors where individual governors take on responsibility for specific subject areas, such as Special Educational Needs and Disability, Safeguarding, Health and Safety and Statutory Grants. Governors will meet with their link members of staff and may sit in on part of lessons to understand how these topics are being managed.

Summary of Governors’ Details (2019-20):

Governor NameGovernor CategoryTerm of office start dateTerm of office end dateRolesDeclarations of Interest
Paul SuttonEx Officio16/04/18Executive HeadteacherExecutive Headteacher of The Orchard Primary School
Janice ForbesSupport Staff27/09/1926/09/23Learning Mentor at AW. Specialist foster carer for Hertfordshire
Emma ReeseAppointed by the Trust03/12/1902/12/23Chair Senior Partner of Rexton Law LLP Firm and director of Rexton Legal Services Ltd
Carole StroudAppointed by the AGB04/02/2003/02/24Statutory GrantsMSA at School
Megan CollingsTeaching Staff02/09/1701/09/21None
Julian WolfAppointed by the AGB04/12/1803/12/22Finance None
Hazel PinderAppointed by the Trust09/10/1808/10/22Head of SchoolNone
Ben WilsonAppointed by the AGB09/07/1908/07/23SafeguardingNone
Debbie SmithParent09/07/1908/07/23Health and SafetyNone
Cedric FelderParent15/10/1914/10/23FinanceNone
Michelle AlpernAppointed by the Trust03/12/1902/12/23None

Governors’ left within the last academic year (2019-20):

Appointed by the AGB

Governor attendance 2018-19:

Number of eligible FGB in yearTotal number FGB attendedTotal number of unauthorised absences
Paul Sutton660
Carole Stroud640
Liz Griffiths660
Erica Tuxworth110
Mark Ford60
Megan Maclean60
Hannah Wells220
Kamala Samways6?0
Janice Forbes6?0
Mark Munday6?0
Emma Reese660
Sarah Ziman6?0
Hazel Pinder660
Julian Wolf5?0
Skip to content